Why can’t I share my testimonial?

Can't share a great bit of feedback? Find out why!

Hey all!

So for today we’re going to talk about how testimonial sharing permissions* work, and why you might not be able to share that amazing comment you got on your talk.

When a member of your audience is going through the survey, they will come to this question:

As you can see, this question has some pretty important checkboxes!

The first determines whether or not their feedback can be seen by anyone you share your report with, and the second asks if their name can be attached to said feedback or not. If this is turned off, then your testimonial will still show up for you, as long as you’re logged in, but not for anyone else. It will also look like this:

The grey ‘Sharing Permission Not Granted’ prevents you from sharing this data.

‍

Now, in the past we at Talkadot had this listed as a required question. That meant there was no way to turn it off. Earlier this year though we opened up customization in a huge way, and one of the things that Speakers on the Pro and above plans can now do is delete this question!

Unfortunately, at present this can create an issue, because these sharing permissions aren’t asked anywhere else. As such, if you’ve turned this off, then the system will treat every reply you receive as ‘Permissions not granted’. 😅

‍

A change to this system is in the works to ask the permissions elsewhere, but as of right now, if you are wondering why all your testimonials are showing this, that might be why.

However, for future talks you can always add this question back in by adding the ‘Top Takeaways’ question:

This question is also an important part of the AI summaries, so might be good to leave it in anyway!

‍

See ya’ll next time!

*All information current to October 2026

‍